As capital of Baixo Alentejo, Beja is a city of historical and social significance. Over the centuries the city has gone through several ups and downs, alternating periods of decline and prosperity. Today, Beja is a modern city in which tradition and innovation come together. The ancient city, an area of narrow cobbled streets, extends from the castle to the São Francisco convent of the thirteenth century, nowadays converted into an inn.

Beja appears as a major agricultural market that lives mainly of the trade of wheat, oil, wine, cork and wool.

Beja is the capital of the district that includes the following counties: Aljustrel, Almodôvar, Alvito, Barrancos, Beja, Castro Verde, Cuba, Ferreira do Alentejo, Mértola, Moura, Odemira, Ourique, Serpa, Vidigueira.



In Beja and surroundings you can still find some potters and other artisans who work with clay and wood. In this region we can also highlight the manufacture of traditional footwear. The blankets from Alentejo are made of undyed wool. The weavers alternate white and brown wool, creating stripes or other more elaborate patterns, using handlooms to make heavy and coarse rugs. These well-done, tightly weaven rugs last for dozens of years. Painted furniture from Ferreira do Alentejo and Ourique is also highly valued. In the district we can also find tin work, basketry, patchwork quilts, work in “buínho”, lace, ceramics and tiles, miniature farm implements, handmade ​​footwear and items in cork.


To visit

São Domingos Mine – Mértola

Roman Villa of Pisões – Beja

Pulo do lobo – Mértola

Vila Nova de Milfontes




No products

Shipping 0,00 €
Total 0,00 €

Cart Check out