Braga is both the Portuguese city with more young people and one of the cities that best safeguarded its architectural heritage, in particular from the Baroque era. The churches, the eighteenth century mansions and the beautiful gardens are the charm of the city center. Since it is the ecclesiastical capital of Portugal it’s not surprising that churches and convents prevail. Known as Bracara Augusta in Roman times, Braga has a long history as a religious and commercial center.

Today it is also an active center that lives of some industries such as leather, textiles, bricks, soap and casting.

Braga is the capital of the district that includes the following counties: Amares, Barcelos, Braga, Cabeceiras de Basto, Celorico de Basto, Esposende, Fafe, Guimarães, Póvoa de Lanhoso, Terras de Bouro, Vieira do Minho, Vila Nova de Famalicão, Vila Verde e Vizela. 



The crafts from this district are of the best known internationally. Rosa Ramalho, Mistério, and a host of other popular artists made Barcelos’ pottery famous. The pottery is often painted and includes the legendary rooster that became a national symbol. They There is also typical work in pottery, wicker, embroidered linen tablecloths, blankets, rugs and quilts, leather goods, saddles, ukuleles, guitars, wrought iron work, farricocos, jewelry, cooperage, stonework and dolls in regional costumes.


To visit

Cathedral – Braga

Bom Jesus do Monte – Braga

Póvoa de Lanhoso Castle

Peneda-Gerês National Park

Guimarães Castle – Guimarães



No products

Shipping 0,00 €
Total 0,00 €

Cart Check out